Announcing The Inaugural Recipients of The New York City Small Theatres Fund 


The Alliance of Resident Theatres/New York and the Howard Gilman Foundation are thrilled to announce the 23 recipients of the inaugural cycle of the New York City Small Theatres Fund. Selected from an initial application pool of over 170 applications, the funded theatres will receive two years of flexible, general operating support to support the operations of their theatre companies. As New York City theatres continue to recover from the impacts of the ongoing pandemic, we are excited to be able to provide multi-year support to this vibrant and crucial segment of New York City’s cultural ecosystem. 

The incredible small theatres funded through this year’s grant cycle represent a range of theatrical aesthetics, organizational structures, methods of working, and artistic communities served. They include theatres working with young audiences, documentary theatres, developmental companies, venues and itinerant theatres, theatres focused on serving a specific geographic or cultural community, devising ensembles, and companies consistently challenging what theatre is – and can be. 

 For some of the grantees, this funding will help push them to their next level of growth, as they continue to build resilience and capacity, while some grantees will use this support to take some space to stabilize and right-size. Adam Odsess-Rubin, Founding Artistic Director of National Queer Theatre shared, “This is our first-ever multi-year grant, an important marker in establishing our sustainability to continue providing impactful programming to LGBTQ+ artists and audiences across New York.” Congratulations to the inaugural recipients!

FY23-24 New York City Small Theatres Fund Recipients

Amaterasu Za >>

Amerinda Theater >>

Black Revolutionary Theatre Workshop >>

Blackberry Productions >>

Emit Theatre >>

Grand Pistachio >>

IRT Theater >>

Kyoung's Pacific Beat >>


Leviathan Lab >>

National Queer Theater >>

Nightdrive >>

Noor Theatre >>

Oye Group >>

Patty Cake Theatre >>

Pioneers Go East Collective >>

Pipeline Theatre Company >>

Rooted Theater Company >>

Safe Harbors NYC >>

Spiderwoman Theater >>

The Parsnip Ship >>

Trusty Sidekick Theater Company >>

Yaa Samar! Dance Theatre >>

NYC Small Theatres Fund Grant 


Panelists were selected from community nominations, consisting of theatre artists and administrators familiar with New York City's small theatres. Carefully reviewing each application and considering it against the evaluation criteria, all nineteen panelists (across two rounds of the application process) brought their knowledge, attention, and time to the evaluation process.

For more information on the panelist process and how you can nominate a panelist for future A.R.T./New York grants, please click here. 

Becky Baumwoll
Artistic Director at Broken Box Mime Theater and Associate at Arts Action Research

Amara Brady
Freelance Generative Artist 

Hope Chávez
Former Director of Artistic Planning at Long Wharf Theatre and Freelance Consultant and Facilitator

Mashuq Mushtaq Deen
Freelance Playwright

Hannah Fenlon
Consultant and Cultural Strategist

Chelsea Fryer
Artistic Programs Manager at The Playwrights Realm

Ryan Gedrich
Advancement Director at Clubbed Thumb

Arnaldo J. López
Managing Director at Pregones/PRTT

Lauren Miller
Development Director at The Bushwick Starr

Patrice Miller
Artistic Associate at Untitled Theater Company #61

A.J. Muhammed
Producer at The Fire This Time Festival and Dramaturg

Robert Neill
Artistic Director & Founding Ensemble Member at the New York Neo-Futurists

Jolene Noelle
Institutional Giving Manager at Rattlestick Theater

Lauren Nordvig
Programs Manager at the Brooklyn Arts Council

Holly Sansom
Operations Director at Theatre of the Oppressed NYC

Martha Steketee
Freelance Dramaturg, Critic, and Researcher

Suzi Takahashi
Freelance Actor and Director

Kate Trammell
Managing Director at the New York Theatre Barn

Ellpetha Tsivicos
Co-founder of One Whale’s Tale